The Spectacular Within the Mundane: One Woman's Haiku Journey by Jennifer Star

Written and spoken
With power in the meaning
The touch of a word
~ * ~

What Readers are Saying...

"This book lives up to the promise of its title. Using words sparingly, in the tradition of Haiku, Jennifer Star does indeed unveil treasures in everyday experiences. Her distinctly contemporary approach to this poetic form brings us to a new sense of inner knowing about familiar yet overlooked elements of daily life. The topics she explores are known to all of us - love, friendship, nature, creativity, aging and death - yet Jennifer's sense of awe and appreciation shed new light on what we might have missed. As a life-long fan of traditional Japanese Haiku, I was moved and inspired by this Western woman's fresh way of seeing through this form of word-making. The book is artfully designed, with graphic details that set off the words with elegance and flair. Reading it in small pieces on busy days felt like a personal mini-retreat. Treat yourself to a helping of inspiration and beauty."
~ Lucia Capacchione, Ph.D., author

"Clean. Elegant. Deep. Like a Haiku itself this book stirs the soul, comforts the heart and rings clear like a silver bell in a misty dawn. Jennifer's collection of Haiku poems fill the pages with pure inspiration. A treasure. Would make a perfect gift for anyone needing comfort, inspiration or just a big dose of the Creative Spirit. Sweet and lovely. You'll want two, one to keep and one to give."
~ Sally J Smith, artist

"I highly recommend this book. It's a delight to read, very uplifting and thought provoking."
~ Susan Mitchell, artist

"The Spectacular Within the Mundane is a precious jewel. If you enjoy Haiku, Rumi, poetry of any kind really, or just drinking in beauty via the written word, this collection will quench your thirst. Turning every page, a gift; a glorious journey without having to walk a step! Thirst quenched for now; but planning to revisit this oasis time and again. Thank you, Jennifer for sharing in such a deeply uplifting and visually stimulating way."
~Aleia O’Reilly, founder of Further Shore